State and Local Entities Partner to Provide Services in Disaster Assistance Centers

Disaster Assistance Centers (DAC) that provide vital, one-stop shop access to disaster-relief services, have opened in five locations in Boulder, Larimer, Weld and Adams counties this week. The centers co-locate services ranging from insurance representatives, non-government organizations, charities, to mental health and human services, making access to resources more efficient and convenient. The work of the DAC is key to the long-term recovery process that takes place following the response phase of a disaster.

The locations of Disaster Assistance Centers are:

Loveland Disaster Assistance Center

815 14th SW, Building #B (This is the old Agilent/HP Building)
Loveland, CO 80537
Hours of operation through Fri., Sept. 20
8 a.m. – 6 p.m., Mon. – Fri.
11 a.m. – 4 p.m., Sat.
12 – 4 p.m., Sun.
Hours of operation Mon., Sept. 23 – Mon., Sept. 30
10 a.m. – 7 p.m., Mon. – Fri.
11 a.m. – 4 p.m., Sat.
12 – 4 p.m., Sun.
Open as of Wednesday, September 18

Longmont Disaster Assistance Center

Twin Peaks Mall
1250 S. Hoover Road
Longmont, CO 80501
Hours of operation: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m., daily
Opened as of Tuesday, September 17
For more information:

Weld County Disaster Assistance Center

Island Grove Exhibition Building
525 N. 15th Ave.
Greeley, CO 90631
Hours of operation: 8 a.m. – 2 p.m., daily
Open as of Tuesday, September 17

Southwest Service Center (for those who live in Weld County with a Longmont address)
4209 CR 24 /12 (Human Services Del Camino Offices – NE corner of I-25 and Hwy119)
Longmont, CO 80504
Hours of operation: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., daily
Opened as of Tuesday, September 17

Adams County

Commerce City Recreation Center
6060 E. Parkway Drive in Commerce City
Commerce City, CO 80022
Hours of operation: 12 – 7 p.m., daily
Open as of Wednesday, September 18
For more information: or

Local, state and federal government services and representatives are located in the centers to deliver assistance where needed. The size and scope of services available in the centers is dependent on the needs determined at the local level.

The following are among the services available in the DACs located in flood-impacted communities:

State Agencies

  • Department of Local Affairs
    • Division of Housing
    • Division of Local Government

  • Department of Regulatory Agencies
    • Division of Insurance

Local Agencies

  • County departments of human services
  • County departments of health
  • North Central Behavioral Health Services

Non-governmental Agencies

  • Red Cross
  • Salvation Army
  • Faith-based organizations
  • Veterans of Foreign Wars

Federal Agencies

  • Small Business Administration (SBA)
  • U.S. Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture, Rural Development
The historic flooding that struck Colorado on September 11, 2013, has impacted 17 counties. It is anticipated Disaster Assistance Centers will open in Boulder and northeastern Colorado as well as additional locations based on local capacity and needs. Some communities will use a town meeting format in place of a DAC to get information to residents. Other communities may open “mini” DACs that will have scaled-down services and hours of operation.

To view a listing of active Disaster Assistance Centers, or for general information about the Colorado floods, go to