Request for Public Assistance deadline extended until Nov. 30

The deadline for eligible applicants to apply for a Request for Public Assistance has been extended to Nov. 30, 2013.

Eligible applicants are local governments, certain nonprofit organizations and state agencies in the 18 Colorado counties designated for Public Assistance.

Originally, the first 10 counties designated in September had a deadline of Nov. 16. The counties are Adams, Boulder, Clear Creek, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, Logan, Morgan, Washington and Weld.

The additional eight counties designated in October, Arapahoe, Crowley, Denver, Fremont, Gilpin, Lake, Lincoln and Sedgwick, previously had aNov. 20 deadline.

FEMA Public Assistance funding helps communities recover by providing a 75 percent federal reimbursement for eligible, disaster-related costs for debris removal, emergency measures, and permanent work to repair and replace disaster-damaged public facilities.

The remaining 25 percent non-federal share comes from state and local sources. The state manages the grants for all projects.

Projects fall into the following categories:
Category A: Debris Removal
Category B: Emergency Protective Measures
Category C: Road Systems and Bridges
Category D: Water Control Facilities
Category E: Public Buildings and Contents
Category F: Public Utilities
Category G: Parks, Recreational and other


FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Follow FEMA online at,, and Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at The social media links are provided for reference only. FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management supports the needs of local government and partners with them before, during and after a disaster and to enhance preparedness statewide by devoting available resources toward prevention, protection, mitigation, response and recovery, which will ensure greater resiliency of our communities. For more information:

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private, nonprofit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts, and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. For information about SBA programs, applicants can go to or call (800) 659-2955 (TTY 1-800-977-8339).