News Release: State Begins Public Assistance Applicant Briefings

graphic stating news release

Centennial, Colo. –July 29, 2015 – The Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM) begins Public Assistance Applicant Briefings on Thursday, July  30 continuing through Thursday, August 13, 2015.   The Applicant Briefings are the first step for impacted jurisdictions in the Public Assistance Grant Program process.   

The Public Assistance Program provides grants to state, local, and federally recognized tribal governments and certain private non-profit entities to assist them with the response to and recovery from disasters.  Specifically, the program provides assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and permanent restoration of infrastructure. The Public Assistance Grant Program is a reimbursement program.  

 The Applicant Briefings are scheduled for:
Thursday, July 30
Elbert County
BOCC Board Room, 215 Comanche Street, Kiowa 80117
1 p.m.
Friday, July 31
Iliff Town Hall, 405 W. 2nd St., Iliff 80736
10 a.m.
Monday, August 3
El Paso / City Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs OEM, 370 Printers Parkway, Colorado Springs 80910
10 a.m.
Tuesday, August 4
Fremont County
Garden Park Building, 201 N. 6th Street, Cañon City 81212
10 a.m.
Wednesday, August 5
Saguache County
Saguache County Road and Bridge Building, 305 3rd St., Saguache 81149
10 a.m.
Thursday, August 6
Pueblo County
Pueblo County Emergency Services Center, 101 W. 10th Street, Pueblo 81003
10 a.m.
Friday, August 7
Baca County
Springfield City Council Chambers, 748 Main Street, Springfield 81073
10 a.m.
Monday, August 10
Morgan County
Morgan County Administration Building (Basement), 231 Ensign Street, Fort Morgan 80701
10 a.m.
Tuesday, August 11
Logan County
Board of County Commissioners Chambers, Logan County Courthouse, 315 Main Street, Sterling 80751
11 a.m.
Tuesday, August 11
Sedgwick County
Board of County Commissioners Chambers, Logan County Courthouse, 315 Main Street, Sterling 80751,
11 a.m.
Wednesday, August 12
Yuma County
 Yuma Ambulance Building Classroom, 302 E. 2nd Avenue, Yuma 80759
10 a.m.
Thursday, August 13
Washington County
Washington County Courthouse, 150 Ash Street, Akron 80720
10 a.m.

The Public Assistance process begins after the disaster declaration. The Colorado DHSEM conducts the Applicant Briefings for state, territorial, local, tribal and Private Non Profit (PNP) officials to inform them of the assistance available and how to apply for it. A Request for Public Assistance must be filed by the grantee within 30 days after the area is designated eligible for assistance. 

Following the Applicant's Briefing, a Kickoff Meeting is conducted where damages will be discussed, needs assessed, and a plan of action put in place. A combined federal/state/territorial/tribal/local team proceeds with Project Formulation, which is the process of documenting the eligible facility, the eligible work, and the eligible cost for fixing the damages to every public or PNP facility identified by State, territorial, tribal, or local representatives. The team prepares a Project Worksheet (PW) based on actual costs or on the basis of an estimate for each project.

The State of Colorado was awarded a major disaster declaration on July 16, 2015 for 11 counties be included in the disaster declaration for Public Assistance based on the joint preliminary damage assessments conducted in Baca, Elbert, El Paso, Fremont, Logan, Morgan, Pueblo, Saguache, Sedgwick, Washington, and Yuma counties.  Additional counties may be added if verified damages meet indicators following Preliminary Damage Assessments currently underway in five additional counties.