DHS Secretary Napolitano Announces Preparedness Task Force Members

On April 7, 2010, the Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano announced the members of a new, nationwide Preparedness Task Force.  The Preparedness Task Force is comprised of a group of 35 local, state, tribal and federal preparedness experts including the Colorado Department of Local Affairs, Division of Emergency Management Director Hans Kallam.  The group's mission is to assess the nation's disaster preparedness status and make recommendations to enhance the nation's resiliency to disasters.

"It is a personal honor to represent Colorado and be a part of this team.  We have applied a lot of effort into preparedness over the past decade.  It is time to reflect and insure that our future efforts reduce our vulnerability and better prepare us for our next disaster," said Kallam of the effort.  

The Preparedness Task Force anticipates delivering their first set of assessment and recommendations in September 2010.


Much more to follow, but - from the team here - CONGRATS, Hans!!!