Disaster Assistance Available for Small Businesses

Small, nonfarm businesses in the following counties are now eligible to apply for low-interest Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  "The loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by adverse weather conditions that occurred in Yuma, Douglas and Elbert Counties.  SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses and dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster" announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA's Disaster Field Operations Center.  Below is a list of eligible counties.  More information available here.

Primary Counties
Neighboring Counties
Incident Type
Incident Date
Kit Carson, Logan, Phillips and Washington in Colorado; Cheyenne in Kansas; and Chase and Dundy in Nebraska
High winds, hail and a tornado
6/14 through 6/19/11
Douglas and Elbert
Arapahoe, El Paso, Jefferson, Lincoln, Park and Teller in Colorado
Beginning 1/01/11

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application via SBA's secure web site.  The deadline to apply for these loans is May 29, 2012.

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA by calling toll-free at (800) 659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA's Disaster Loans website.